Thanksgiving Bread Crumbs

 

image

 

Would you want your guests to feast on bread crumbs for Thanksgiving? I would rather serve the gifts of God’s bounty and drink the living water of His Presence.

As I was reading my devotional reading from Jesus Calling, I was moved by a particular paragraph. “When you are around other people, you tend to cater to their expectations — real or imagined. You feel enslaved to pleasing them, and your awareness of My Presence grows dim. Your efforts to win their approval eventually exhaust you. You offer these people dry crumbs rather than the living water of My Spirit flowing through you. This is not My way for you! Stay in touch with Me, even during your busiest moments. Let My Spirit give you words of grace as you live in the Light of My Peace.”

This passage contains a number of truths we need to remember this holiday season.  These are important so that we keep our focus on what is important and not all of the production and wrappings of the holidays.

1.  The first thing is “catering to others’ expectations — real or imagined.” I love the word imagined in this sentence.  So many times, we imagine what holidays “should be.” I know that I have watched way too many sappy movies and have confused reality with Hollywood productions. I have been guilty of worshipping my idea of “the perfect celebration,” instead of remembering what I am actually celebrating. If my meal doesn’t come out looking like a Norman Rockwell painting, I think I’m a failure. This is so far from the truth. I don’t recall my Grandmothers’ tablescapes. Instead, I remember the delicious meals and the love and laughter of my family.

2. Then there’s the phrase “your efforts … exhaust you.” It’s easy to try to be the “Hostess with the Mostest” and lose your focus.  When I try to be everything to everyone, I get tired and cranky. Then comes the bad attitude. This is being like Martha in the Bible. She got caught up in the celebration instead of celebrating Jesus. She did everything and made sure that everyone knew. She even threw her own sister under the bus — to Jesus, no less!  I’m sure she expertly made all of the preparations for Jesus and his disciples, but was quite unpleasant. Most anyone would rather enjoy eating good food with a gracious host than eating gourmet cuisine with a grouchy host.

3. Lastly, I love the sentence that says “On my own, I offer people bread crumbs.” I could present my little nuggets of wisdom, but not anything to chew on, digest, and feel satisfied. But when I spend time with God, listening for his instructions and basking in his glory, I am aware of God’s presence through the Holy Spirit living inside of me. And just like Jesus changed the water to wine, God changes my feeble words into a soliloquy of praise and grace!  The key to this miracle is me keeping my eyes on God. When I’m cleaning the bathroom or cutting the onions, I need to be “in touch” with God. I don’t think it matters if I’m praying or listening to Christian music. The point is that I’m focused on Him instead of myself or my “perfect celebration.” When I keep my heart and mind focused on God’s shining presence, my efforts are multiplied into a blessing to others.

Happy Thanksgiving! We are all so blessed!

 

 

One thought on “Thanksgiving Bread Crumbs

  1. This is such a pleasant and warm expression of gratitude. I did enjoy reading your article. I, too, loved those times around your grandmother’s Thanksgiving table!!

    Like

Leave a comment